Magpie Murders: the Sunday Times bestseller crime thriller with a fiendish twist

January 14, 2019 - Comment

‘The finest crime novel of the year’ Daily Mail***** Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . ., Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pund, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.But Conway’s latest

Buy Now! £5.45Amazon.co.uk Price
(as of 5:04 am GMT - Details)

‘The finest crime novel of the year’ Daily Mail***** Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . ., Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pund, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.But Conway’s latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.*****Praise for Magpie Murders – the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:’Ingenious’ Sunday Times’Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist’ Daily Mail ‘A stylish thriller’ Sunday Mirror ‘A cunning reinvention of the thriller’ Mail on Sunday

Comments

Anonymous says:

The whodunnit to end all whodunnits? Joy Swift, inventor of murder mystery weekends, once wrote a plot in which you began to suspect that the actors playing the suspects were embroiled in their own murder mystery, quite separate from the one that they were acting out. So it is here. In what might be the ultimate whodunit, Anthony Horowitz, who himself was the first to adapt Midsomer Murders for television, alongside his many, many other achievements in the genre (bringing back Sherlock Holmes, writing some of the best Poirot…

Anonymous says:

Brilliant read Whodunnit genre rebooted. Intelligently written with lots of twists and turns. Best thing I read this year, I couldn’t put it down.

Anonymous says:

A novel within a novel – an absorbing tale and an excellent homage to golden age crime fiction. Clever, witty & v readable! Magpie Murders is a brilliantly constructed novel in a novel and throughout its course I found it a clever and absorbing tale. Despite its lengthy unravelling it really does offer superior bang for your buck with two murders along the way. Although it could admittedly be more incisive it offers a superb homage to the golden age of detective fiction, a salute to the great Hercule Poirot right through to poking fun at the publishing industry and the intellectual snobbery of critics who dismiss…

Write a comment

*

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.