The Unsound Convictions of Judge Stephen Mentall: A laugh out loud satire on the police and judiciary

January 12, 2019 - Comment

“Hilarious. A comic genius is born. Thoroughly British with scurrilous but likeable characters. Laugh-out-loud funny. A must for fans of Tom Sharpe.” HE’S A JUDGE WITH A PAST Meet Stephen Mentall. He’s a judge, a hypocrite and he’s been a very naughty boy – the kind of man who thinks the world, and all those

Buy Now! £0.99Amazon.co.uk Price
(as of 9:05 pm GMT+0000 - Details)

“Hilarious. A comic genius is born. Thoroughly British with scurrilous but likeable characters. Laugh-out-loud funny. A must for fans of Tom Sharpe.”

HE’S A JUDGE WITH A PAST

Meet Stephen Mentall. He’s a judge, a hypocrite and he’s been a very naughty boy – the kind of man who thinks the world, and all those that inhabit it, are there to serve him and him alone.

BUT HIS PAST IS ABOUT TO CATCH UP WITH HIM

Life is going well for Judge Mentall, he’s just managed to get shot of his wife and Madam Suzie’s House of Pleasure now regard him as their best customer.

But, with forces at work to bring him down, he finds himself the victim of a botched kidnapping. As a result, he is locked-up and seemingly forgotten in a seedy care home for the elderly by kidnappers pretending to be his concerned offspring.

His protestations that he’s actually a crown court judge and not senile prove as futile as his attempts to escape. Meanwhile, the three Chief Constables charged with finding him spend more time bickering with each other than they do investigating his disappearance. Only a chance piece of evidence reveals his whereabouts.

His freedom is short-lived, however, when the crimes he has committed and those he hasn’t soon catch up with him. As his own trial looms, will Judge Mentall also become the victim of an unsound conviction?

SO WHO WILL LIKE IT…

Smith’s debut novel is a laugh-out-loud satirical romp, it’ll will remind you of the novels of Tom Sharpe (especially ‘Blott On The Landscape’ with its similar power mad corrupt officials). Perfect too for fans of Viz, Private Eye and Have I Got News for You. Click on the ‘Look inside’ button and read the first chapter for free.

AND WHAT DO OTHER READERS THINK…

Hilarious. A comic genius is born.

A cleverly written story which had me laughing out loud.

Intelligently written and thoroughly recommended.

A gloriously cynical view of the judiciary, the police and criminal low life.

Scurrilous but likeable characters and thoroughly British.

Smith’s humour begins with the title, ‘The Unsound Convictions of Judge Stephen Mentall’. A judge whose convictions about the world are as unsound as some of the cases over which he has presided ends up the victim of an unsound conviction himself – genius.

Categories: crime comedy, crime humour, humour, humourous kindle books, humourous fiction, humourous crime fiction, humour comedy, comedy crime, british comedy, british humour, satire, thriller comedy, humour books, humourous books for adults, comedy kindle books, humour in kindle books, humour satire, humourous books for adults, humour kindle books, humour books for adults, humour books for men, satire books, humourous fiction for adults, funny, funny books, funny kindle books, funny crime, funny books for men, funny novels, humour novels, humour fiction, judge mental, bollinger wodehouse prize, police humour, judiciary humour, legal humour

Comments

Anonymous says:

Hilarious As a retired policeman I have seen them all: Senior officers in a newly amalgamated police force struggle to maintain status. A stressed detective, fueled by alcohol and takeaways, trying to make sense of his collapsing world. Add a petty criminal whose bungled attempts to enter the big time involve a high court judge with a doubtful personal reputation. Collateral damage and mis-understandings abound. A cleverly written story which had me laughing out loud.

Anonymous says:

Thoroughly entertaining and scarily believable It’s rare to find a romp that’s both funny and clever, but The Unsound Convictions was filled with unpredictable twists and turns and had me laughing out loud. Judge Stephen Mentall is neither an upstanding member of the judiciary nor lucky. When he is kidnapped by some have-a-go criminals, the life he knew crumbles into nothing as they hide him in a residential care home. It’s not easy to escape, when no one believes you, nor wants you found. Throw in a bumbling police force, and the Judge’s future is far from rosy. Enjoy!

Anonymous says:

Laugh-out-loud funny Loved this book. It sails eye-wateringly close to the winds of good taste at times, but is no worse for that. Finely observed, well informed, stylishly written and, yes, very, very funny. The muppets who run the Bollinger Everyman Wodehose Prize for Comic Fiction and failed to award it to anyone this year (nothing had the ‘funny factor’, apparently) could have looked no further than The Unsound Convictions of Judge Stephen Mentall for their winner. Maybe next year. Highly recommended for all fans of classy British literary humour.

Comments are disabled for this post.

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.