Murder In The Dark: a gripping crime mystery full of twists

January 12, 2019 - Comment

“Thoroughly entertaining, tense, suspenseful, and so well-written. Don’t miss this one. Highly recommended reading!” – John Nicholl – bestselling author “A triumph of a mystery, a good cosy crime to entertain everyone – Betsy Reavley has done it again!” – Anita Waller bestselling author Without a motive, how do you identify the killer? Imagine a

Buy Now! £1.99Amazon.co.uk Price
(as of 5:04 am GMT - Details)

“Thoroughly entertaining, tense, suspenseful, and so well-written. Don’t miss this one. Highly recommended reading!” – John Nicholl – bestselling author

“A triumph of a mystery, a good cosy crime to entertain everyone – Betsy Reavley has done it again!” – Anita Waller bestselling author

Without a motive, how do you identify the killer?

Imagine a quaint little bookshop. Outside the snow is falling. Inside the shelves are stacked with books by authors waiting to be discovered. What could be better?

When Tilly Edgely lands a position working at Ashton’s bookshop in Cambridge she thinks she’s found her perfect job. But one winter’s morning, when she arrives to open up, she discovers the body of her boss suspended from the ceiling, hanging by a rope around his neck.

DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called to the scene and quickly find themselves searching for a twisted killer whose identity and motive are nearly impossible to trace.

But just when they think they have the murderer in their sights, another body shows up throwing the case wide open…

Who is behind the killings and why?

The police have their work cut out and the key to unlocking the gruesome mystery might be found right under their nose.

But one thing is for certain, this killer will leave you hanging…

What everyone is saying about Murder in the Dark:

“Another great cozy crime from Ms Reavley. Perfect for those dark winter evenings…” – J.A. Baker bestselling author

“Once again this author has written a thrilling read with a totally unexpected outcome!” – Susan Hunter reviewer

“An amazing twisted story that sends chills down your spine” – Sarah Hodgson reviewer

Betsy Reavley is the international best-selling author of multiple thrillers, including The Optician’s Wife and Frailty. Murder in the Dark is the follow-on to Murder at the Book Club, though can equally be read as a stand-alone. It’s a gripping mystery thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Joy Ellis, Faith Martin and LJ Ross. 

Comments

Anonymous says:

My perfect read. Murder In The Dark – My perfect kind of read.The story is set Cambridge just before Christmas where the author evoked picturesque images of snowy streets in a beautiful city – and then came the murders.The police team were interesting, a younger officer juggling work and family while his senior was facing the prospect of being alone for Christmas. What also appealed was that within the investigation I didn’t get too bogged down with police procedure, the author gets on with telling the story which is very well paced.The other characters were a mixed bunch and I was able to build up a very clear picture of them all. The author has a knack of getting under the skin of relationships and how we interact with one another – I have always enjoyed this aspect of her other books. I found myself empathising with the sisters in the story while at the same time disliked those that were purposely written in a bad light.The book was very absorbing and in some parts poignant…

Anonymous says:

cosy detective story, shallow characters, Other reviewers called this a cosy detective which, I suppose it is if by that they mean a detective story with no horrendously gruesome, gory, details. That’s fine by me too. As such the story is believable, not complex but, equally, not so obvious that the perpetrator is known from page 10. It flows well even if most of the sentences are snippy to say the least. Too uniform in length, short, and generally very simple structure. A few more complex ones would add interest. However it lacks depth as do the characters. There are no descriptions of what they look like or any other details other than the pleasingly normal marriages, even if the senior detective is now a widower, that the two detectives seem to share, and some of the anxieties that the characters have – the worry about missing Christmas with wife and son, the delayed shock of finding the first body, the fear of a mother for a wayward son. The characters likewise feel shallow to me and, frankly, I didn’t care what happened…

Anonymous says:

An engrossing page turner of a read. Murder In The Dark is a stand alone story and very much a detective/crime novel.Whilst not a festive read, it is set in the run up to Christmas. You can feel the frustration by the police in having such a high profile case to be working on, especially at a busy time of year as well as the weather being a hindrance. I didn’t envy them one bit!In the style of most books in this sort of genre, we are taken on a journey on how the police investigate and zone in on a killer. The author does well in keeping the identity of the killer from me until she is ready to reveal all. Not only did she keep the killer’s identity from me, I also hadn’t guessed the reasoning behind the murders. When all is revealed, it actually made for quite a surprising but sad revelation.Murder In The Dark was an engrossing, page turner of a read. It isn’t a fast paced read but more of a steady one that will keep you hooked through out. Not sure if there will be more featuring…

Write a comment

*

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.